Surely…

…I had found a food the “My Fitness Pal” app didn’t have in its barcode database. I was wrong. It just took it a while to find it.

I have a ridiculous weakness for McVitie’s Caramel Digestives. They’re what we Americans would call a cookie, but I discovered them in the UK back in February. In the UK they cost about 75 pence for 300 grams (about 18 cookies) which converts to roughly $1.25 US. I can find them here at various specialty International markets for anywhere from $4.00 to $6.00. Ouch. I might as well get a box of GS cookies and call it a day.

The cookies or “tea biscuits” as they call them have a cookie base, then a layer of caramel. The layer of milk chocolate on top is forgettable, except that it melts all over your fingers as you eat this cookie. They do go quite well with a cup of black tea, or even green tea. I’m not sure it really matters, I can’t seem to stop eating the darn things. It’s good they’re relatively hard to find.

As of right now, I’m sitting outside with my editor (Ember the cat, not a real person) and I’ve just finished one of these cookies. It will be the only one I have today.

Willpower! I can haz it!

… So, the ugly truth here is… this is me procrastinating. I don’t want to cut things from my story, but I know I have to. There are things I have to change. There are things I definitely have to make better.

This is my first real shot at this, so of course I’m not going to get it right the very first time. Improvements will have to be made. Since I have time to do it right the first time, I should probably take the opportunity to do it. I’ll be rather upset when I am published and reading it after getting a copy that is in bookstores and on Nooks and I find a horrible error… That would be awful.

I really need to give myself the permission to take the time to do it right.

I hope I learn something from all of this.

What do I want to get out of publishing?  Well yes, money, fame (Actually, I don’t want fame. I like being able to leave the house), a book tour, a movie deal (for the book, not for me ), but the realistic goal – the one that might actually be achievable is getting the satisfaction of a job well done and if I don’t take the time to do the job well, then, I don’t get the satisfaction… I guess.

 

Leave a Reply

