Reading out…

… loud really seemed to help me today.

After I tried to get back into the swing of my full book read through by forcing myself to sit down at my desk, and then promptly failing to get anything done, I went for a swim. It was a lovely day, really. Mid-90s, low humidity, light breeze which is now, at midnight, a full blown wind storm. The pool hovered at about 80 degrees F.

I never would’ve thought two degrees could make such a difference, but I much prefer an 82 degree pool to an 80 degree pool. The trick, I’ve discovered (today was a day of trick discovery), is to get into the much smaller spa section of the pool first. The spa is not heated all the time, it is, however a smaller space so when it gets the water from the solar heating panels on the roof, it gets warmer faster. So, climb in there first. Get wet. Get accustomed to a lower temperature. Then hop into the pool. It still felt cold but it wasn’t so tough to make myself get in.

Then I paddled around for about 30 minutes. It was nice.

At least after that I felt ready to focus. I still didn’t focus, but I was in the right frame of mind to consider it. I watched another episode of Mr. Selfridge and figured out dinner. I fed the cats and cleaned off my desk. Then, I sat down at my computer, watched the “Guardians of the Galaxy” movie trailer again (more on that later), popped up iTunes and played “Hooked on a Feeling” by Blue Suede as loud as I could without it being heard outside the house (I am not a fan of bothering the neighbors). I started reading the chapter giving me fits. Chapter 12, I believe it was. I read out loud. And suddenly, I was done. Complete with fixes and re-worked paragraphs. Then I did Chapter 11.

Chapter 11 got a whole section cut out and a new section dropped in. A new section I’d written based on last week’s writing prompt from my writing group. The old section was one I hadn’t liked from the beginning and I had this lovely piece with no home… Perfect!

IMG_7008_edited-1
The palm tree in my backyard.

The plan of attack for tomorrow is similar, minus the swimming. The forecast says breezy and 75 degrees – not nearly warm enough for this pansy to dunk herself in a vat of water. But, I’ll sit down at my desk and start reading out loud again, maybe with a new choice of song for variety. I’m thinking “Shiver Shiver” by Walk the Moon. Maybe. We’ll see where the mood takes me.

 

Leave a Reply

