About the…

Here is a picture of Ember with her head in a McDonald's bag - because this post is kinda ranty. (We don't eat McD anymore and neither does Ember)
Here is a picture of Ember with her head in a McDonald’s bag – because this post is kinda ranty. (We don’t eat McD anymore and neither does Ember)

…#yesallwomen, I had to put my thoughts out there.

I’m sure some will agree and some won’t. I have a lot of conflicting thoughts on the subject of men and women and what constitutes harassment and what doesn’t. The thing that really makes me angry, though, is the sense of entitlement to … I don’t even know how to say it.

Let me just say this – I don’t owe any random male (or female, for that matter) any sort of sexual favor.  I don’t even owe it to my husband who takes extremely good care of me. He takes me to dinner. He buys me things. He even scoops the cat litter but he has never presumed to act like I owe him anything. And he has never taken anything I wasn’t willing to give.

That’s a real man.

I’ve seen the ugly coming out of the woodwork in the last few days since the incident at UCSB. Especially on the internet, or since I haven’t really been out and about – only on the internet. Don’t get me wrong, I love the internet. It is a wondrous wonder. Because of the internet I can watch cat videos all day if I so desire , but it has certainly allowed a certain amount of ‘uglification’ if you will. People think that because they are sitting behind a computer that gives them the right to spew their hate everywhere. Their hatred of women, their hatred of basil, their hatred of the letter ‘P’.

If  one single person comments here and blames Obama for the hatred on the internet – well, it won’t be pretty.

Listen, guys, men, whatever you want to call yourselves, if you think you’ve been rejected by everyone, well, so has everyone else. I went out with one person before I met my husband and it wasn’t for lack of trying on my part. I was laughed at. I was condescended to. But did I ever think any of the males that turned me down owed me something?

Uh. No. That’s just stupidcakes. (I am trademarking that phrase right now.)

Did I ever think any male (or female for that matter) owed me something? Not unless they borrowed money. Then they definitely owed me something. Specifically – money.

Actually, there are a few people who owe me the truth, but that’s a different thing all together.

 

4 thoughts on “About the…”

  1. Rejection is hard to accept, but so are many other things in life. It’s something that isn’t really taught or shown in our culture. Rather in nearly every romantic-comedy, a rejection is just an invitation to persistence.

Leave a Reply

