Music and Me – Writing 101

Today’s Writing 101 prompt: Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you? Free write for no less than 15 minutes. Do not stop. Do not correct. *Side note: I am finding the “Do not correct” part of the instructions the most frustrating. I am a champion speller, but a lousy typist. Fixing typos is a compulsion. *

This might not be a wise thing to admit but I am not a music enthusiast, generally. I never doodled songs when I was an angst filled teenage girl. I generally don’t listen to music in the car. I prefer silence or NPR talk radio. Unless I can find my “zone” I find music very distracting. I don’t know if it is the tones or the lyrics. Maybe it’s the percussion line. I just don’t know.

I go into fits of rage when I have to listen to other people’s music – and by that I mean the neighbor playing their music too loud. The guy in the car next to mine at the red light. The young pup on the airplane with their headphones turned up so loud I can hear the lyrics of whatever tripe they’re listening to. Hey! Enjoy your deafness at 27!

I have found it to be helpful when I’m editing, though. I pick one song and put it on loop and just go. My most recent choice was “Hooked On A Feeling” by Blue Swede. I really enjoy that song. I also really enjoy the way it was used in the first trailer for “Guardians of the Galaxy”.  I’ve been through a phase with “Happy” by Pharrell Williams. I mean, how can you *not* dance to that? I think I may need a visual to go with music for it to have much meaning for me. I’d not really noticed “Happy” until I watched Lupita Nyongo dancing to it at the Oscars in her really expensive gown. “Hooked On A Feeling” was much the same. I didn’t pay much attention until I heard it used on the GotG trailer.

I’ve always loved Blue Man Group, but I’ve seen their stage shows, too. Just last night I was listening to “I’ll Get You What You Want” from the end credits of “The Muppets Most Wanted”, on repeat,  which I watched on the plane home from a work gig in Orlando.

So, yes. I listen to music, but it’s not something I need to have around me 24/7. I need a lot of silence. Perhaps silence is my music? There might be something to that thought…

I love how, when there is nothing but silence I can hear everything. And, I suppose I am using the term ‘silence’ loosely. I like to be able to hear my cats mrrring or cleaning themselves and if I had music playing all the time, I’d *never* hear that. I like to hear the garage door opening so I know my husband has finally arrived home. It’s *amazing* what you can hear when you’re not surrounded by, essentially, noise pollution. Right now I hear the whirr of the fans in my laptop. I hear just the slightest chatter from the TV as my husband is watching baseball with the volume turned way down low.  I hear the occasional bit of traffic noise from the freeway that is just on the other side of a cinder block wall in the backyard. I hear myself tapping these keys. And, I hear Inkblot giving herself a bath which is apparently over because I just heard her mrrrring. Soon, she will start singing the song of her… felines… as she must always alert me it is quite nearly time for kitty dinner.

Leave a Reply

