Contrast and Contrast – Writing 101

Hmm. It is entirely possible I am cheating on today’s Writing 101 assignment.  We are to write a post that contains contrast, or perhaps conflict might be a better way to put it. Then, this is to be a dialogue in which the tone and style of the speakers is apparent. My answer to the challenge follows…

“My favorite is the Daddy, ob-v.” Ember T. Cat wiggled slightly in her sun warmed cat hammock, settling in for an afternoon snooze.

“Both humans are our servants. You make them think we’re here for their comfort.” Inkblot blinked slowly as she surveyed the surroundings from her own sun warmed cat hammock. “We are not.”

“The Daddy give me treats and he has the nicest lap. I like to curl up on his lap while he sits at that thing upstairs. The Mommy – she gets up and sits down and wiggles and squirms.” Ember twisted her head around to scratch an itch behind her ear. “What’s so bad about being there for comfort?”

“We were worshipped once, did you know that? We. Were. Gods.”

“I think Daddy worships me. He comes home every day and I’m so excited to see him I come rushing to the door, telling him all about my lovely naps! He gives me kisses!”

Inkblot gave a snort of disgust. “Moron.”

“What’s a moron?”

“A dolt. You are a dolt. I am the smartest, most beautiful thing in this house – and the humans know it. If they were intelligent they would know I should be a member of Mensa, but they are too stupid to understand my speech.”

Ember brought one delicate white paw forward and began licking, “Huh. Why don’t you learn their talk?” she asked between licks and swipes as she cleaned her face.

“I… do not have lips to form words.” Inkblot stared at the smaller calico in the other window hammock, “Furthermore, I will not deign to speak to them unless it is to order my dinner! ”

Inkblot believes we are here to wait on her hand and paw.
Inkblot believes we are here to wait on her hand and paw.
Ember, on the other hand, gives clawed foot massages.
Ember, on the other hand, gives clawed foot massages.
Leave a Reply

