For those…

… keeping score at home, I’ve sent my first piece out to first readers. I did it with some glee because I was so happy to have been done. But now, I face the anxiety.

What if they don’t like it?

What if they tell me they don’t like it?

What if they actually call me on the spots where I was a lazy writer?

What if it is the worst piece of crap to ever have been typed into a word processor?

Well, okay, if they don’t like it – it might simply be that it isn’t their particular cup of tea. Perhaps I should mine the local steampunk community for first readers for this particular piece.

If they tell me they don’t like it – that’s helpful as long as they are able to articulate why.

If they call me on the spots where I was a lazy writer, or plotter, or whatever – well, isn’t that the point? Sure, I feel like I’ve been swatted across the nose when it happens, but I rub my nose and make it better! This is why I’m subjecting these poor people to this process!

As far as it possibly being the worst piece of crap ever typed into a word processor… I don’t think that’s the case. If you like Tolstoy or Stephen King, you probably won’t think it is very good – that goes back to the whole “cup of tea” thing I mentioned earlier. But, if you like a nice little love story where the girl gets the guy in the end (oops, spoiler alert) – or you’re my Mom – I’m pretty sure it has some merit. My Mom will probably take it with her to the local Friends of the Library meeting or possibly to the local Democrats meeting and show everyone her daughter’s book! She may not let them read it, but she’ll probably show it around… it’s easier to tell people that your daughter is a writer than trying to explain what I did before, or even what I do in the interim while I’m trying to put “famous writer” on my resume.

Leave a Reply

