Spinach for…

…breakfast.

I love pancakes and waffles and bacon and sausage and biscuits and … sigh, name a breakfast food and I like it. It might be the fact that most foods traditionally associated with breakfast (at least in the US) are laden with tasty carbs and yummy fat. Case in point – jelly doughnuts. Jelly doughnuts are the poster children for carbs and fat.

Yeah, I know, all I can think about right now is the breakfast place near my husband’s office, too.

The unfortunate thing is that I’ve come to the understanding lately that I cannot eat these things on a regular basis. Or even semi regular. Maybe once a year. If that.

So, where does the spinach come in, you ask. I like it in breakfast two ways. The first is in an egg white omelet, but that usually requires cheese, so that’s a once every couple of months thing.

I joined Costco today because I’m an idiot (not really, but what private household needs  four gallons of olive oil? Not this one. What this household gets at Costco is a reprieve from buying toilet paper very often and gigantic bottles of pickles. My husband really loves pickles. Also, large format photo printing.) This visit I came out of Costco with a pound of “Organic Baby Spinach”. That’s a lot of spinach for one person (my husband is not going to eat spinach). I almost bought the two pound bag of regular spinach for the same price but I decided that less waste is less waste.  So, what do I do with spinach? I make smoothies.

Before I hear the collective “EW! GROSS!” hear me out. I also buy three pounds of bananas at Costco for something around a dollar. It’s a little more than that, but still cheaper than the grocery for decent bananas. At least with bananas I can freeze them whole for later.

Today’s recipe went like this: 1 Avocado @ 101 grams, 95 grams of Strawberries, 50 grams of spinach, 1 banana @ 90 grams, 1 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk, 1 TBSP PB2 (Powdered Peanut Butter. Don’t knock it ’til you try it) and a cup of crushed ice.

I throw all of that into the food processor and out comes this really ugly drink. Really. It looks like the yuck. But it smells really good, so it has that going for it. Stick a straw in that sucker and drink it down. Don’t look at it, just drink it. Is it healthy? I’d say so – except for the fat content, but 75% of the fat is from the avocado so at least it is “good” fat. Whatever that means.  I haven’t shown that recipe to my doctor yet so we’ll see, but the nutritional counts go like this :  Fat 19g, Cholesterol 0mg, Sodium 288g, Potassium 1382g (Gold star for Potassium!), Tot Carb 43g, Dietary Fiber 14g (Gold star for Fiber!), Sugar 17g (None refined), Protein 8g, Vit A 67% RDA, Vit C 136% RDA, Calcium 52% RDA, Iron 18% RDA

Don’t worry. I’m not going to become a food blogger. There are too many people out there who do that really well. I just wanted to share this with you – and if you have any suggestions regarding how to use up spinach – I’m seriously looking for recipes.

Leave a Reply

