Searching for…

…wi-fi. That could be the subtitle for my as yet to be titled ‘vacation’.

The husband and I spent the last eight days running around 4 countries like our tails were on fire.

The summary goes like this:

6 flights (2 long haul)

4 trains

2 boats

1 taxi

We landed in London and all seemed well until my luggage didn’t show on the luggage belt. Really, Delta, I would’ve thought you would try to make sure your Business Elite passengers were taken care of. Despite the fact I was flying on miles. While that shouldn’t make a difference my husband’s luggage made it, we paid for his flight and had the same razor thin connection in JFK – where my luggage spent part of our vacation. I always knew having my luggage take a detour (our simply try to tour NYC without me) would drive me nuts – I just never appreciated how much until it happened to me. I should point out this is the second flight in a row this has happened on, but the last flight was a flight home so – I didn’t have to waste the first day looking for clothes or the second day tearing my hair out trying to divine the location of my bag.

Anyway, my point wasn’t to complain about my luggage – Delta will be getting a screenful about that.

And possibly that you want me on your side when you’re lost in a city because I got lucky more than once this trip – and by lucky I mean I found my destination without having to resort to using the data plan on my phone. It could be the fact I use Google maps to ‘walk’ strange places before I go…

London is, possibly, my favorite city in the world. The juxtaposition of old and new – from the Tower of London to buildings such as the Shard, the Gherkin, the Walkie-Talkie, and the Cheese Grater. I’ll let the Italians keep their 200 AD buildings and ruins predating Christ – London is my favorite place. Why? Unfortunately my answer may seem a bit shallow, but it’s about the language. Most people speak English in London which I find to be comforting. I’m in a strange place with strange food and strange customs, but at least I am able to understand the cashier at Boots (the equivalent of CVS). We also went to Paris where people were, as advertised, rude. I went with high hopes that it was a stereotype, but within five minutes of stepping off the Eurostar I was growled at by no less than two people. Eh. Just makes me want to spend no money in your city, so be nice or I won’t.

After Paris it was back to London and then onto another train the next day to see my friend up in the northern UK. It was lovely to see her and I’m very glad she was able to carve out time for me. She also gave me a grilled cheese sandwich and  “popcorn panna cotta”. If you’re ever at the Tyneside Cinema Bar in Newcastle – try it. Try both! They’re really quite wonderful.

After that it was a train ride back to London and the next day, a trip to Heathrow to catch a flight to Berlin, Germany.

Of all the cities in Europe, why Berlin? Well, it wasn’t for the Wiener Schnitzel. The husband had a thing to go see there and other than that we saw the Brandenburg Gate, the Reichstag, and I saw the Zoo. Nice zoo, by the way. They had Sand Cats, which are the cutest wild cats in existence.

This morning we flew to Amsterdam and tomorrow we will fly back home. Hopefully my bag will not attempt escape to NYC again – we have a nice, long layover so that shouldn’t be a problem. I hope.

Next week, pictures! (My current wi-fi connection is … tenuous, at best, but still loads better than it was in Germany!)

2 thoughts on “Searching for…”

  1. Did you have a set of clothes in your husband’s luggage? T doesn’t even fight me over that any more. He just hands me a full set of his clothes for each of my pieces of luggage and accepts the same from me. It is a little weird, but it ensures that if one piece arrives and the other one doesn’t, each of us still has at least one full set of clothes beyond what was in our carryon.

    1. Hm. I’ll have to keep that idea in mind for next time. The good news is that Delta did reimburse me for the costs, not the time i lost, but the cost is something, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

