Feline Friday: Camping in the Backyard

What’s a kitty own-ee to do when the house is having renovations done in every room?

I should’ve known it was going to be a weird week when I saw the luggage come out of the closet… and then everything came out of everywhere. The Mommy and the Daddy started removing everything. The giant cat bed came apart and disappeared. Ramps to kitty perches came off the walls,  even the two big soft cat beds in the living room, gone. I was so sad!

The Mommy brought home new and “improved” bags (now boxes) of doom as my overly dramatic sister calls them. When we had to “test” them for the first time  I made sure the Daddy knew how upset I was. Inkblot did, too. We went to a ‘Westin’, which was a nice change from the usual ‘vet’. We got to spend two whole days there with Daddy all the time – which was also a nice change. It’s usually the Mommy that’s always with us. Like, all the time.

I knew things were going to change when the Mommy came in one evening looking frazzled – more frazzled than usual, then the Mommy and the Daddy started packing up. I told them not to pack away my food bowl – I might need that!

This is what we came home to! Where was my soft carpet?
This is what we came home to! Where was my soft carpet?

The next morning Inkblot and I were packed up again into our boxes of doom and loaded into the Daddy’s truck. I was convinced that this time we must be going to the vet.

We did not. I was so excited to see that we went home! The “Westin” was nice and all, but there were strange noises and every morning the halls were filled with monsters!

The strange thing was the house looked completely different and it was dusty. The Mommy and Daddy didn’t let us out of our boxes when they took us inside. The fussed and fiddled for a while and eventually took us out the back door. The one I try to run out of each time it opens.

"Camping" sure is luxurious we don't get this many blankets in the house!
“Camping” sure is luxurious we don’t get this many blankets in the house!

The Mommy said, “Please don’t try to get out of the tent. This is for your safety, kitties! Enjoy camping!”

I usually believe everything Mommy says, but this time I wasn’t sure. It was cold and soon there were strange voices and bang bang bang and rat-a-tat-a-tat noises. It took a while, but I got used to it and even began to enjoy the fresh air. The Mommy brought us lots of blankets and our baskets. She even tucked a heat spot into the basket. She gave us water and treats and hugs and kisses.

If this is camping could I have some more, please?

Camping was nice, but I much prefer our usual!
Camping was nice, but I much prefer our usual!

 

 

Leave a Reply

