The acquisition…

… of cat food requires a venture outside of the comfy confines of my house.

I try not to leave the house for just one thing which is probably a nod to my kid-hood. Growing up in the middle of nowhere meant that once a week we went to “town” (aka, Richmond) to buy groceries and whatever sundry items we might need to survive for another week in the sticks. I seem to remember always wanting shoes. Fortunately for my closet, I got over that particular stereotype early in life. I suppose it could be argued that I have a lot of shoes now, but this post isn’t about shoes.

This post is about this:

I'm sure there are about 15 bazillion calories in this thing. That's okay. It's really cold here - for Vegas - so I'm shivering constantly.
I’m sure there are about 15 bazillion calories in this thing. That’s okay. It’s really cold here – for Vegas – so I’m shivering constantly.

A Nutella Mousse Bombe from the Chocolate and Spice Bakery in Las Vegas, Nevada.

I did not leave the house with the intention of going to the bakery. I left the house with the intention of going to the vet to pick up kitty food, then going by the grocery for a strong decongestant, with a swing by Discount Beads to look at the pretty baubles and possibly buy a metric ton of jump rings.

There was time to kill between the vet and the bead store as Discount Beads doesn’t open until 10AM. So, there it was, Chocolate and Spice Bakery with a single sunbeam shining down upon it. The scene was very biblical.

As an aside I think it is ironic that in the same complex there is some sort of an exercise-y gym location as well as a group of life coach/personal trainers. If I had to choose between the gym and this?

I did get it home before I ate the whole thing. Also, the pointy teeth marks are from the fork. I am not Gollum.
I did get it home before I ate the whole thing. Also, the pointy teeth marks are from the fork. I am not Gollum.

Well, those who know me will understand that the gym never stood a chance.

Funny thing about bakeries, you never know what is good and what is mass produced junk that came from (insert least favorite big box store here). I’m 99.9% sure this was not mass produced. It is entirely possible the ingredients were all handcrafted by master artisans before being combined into this perfection.

One would expect this to be a sugar bomb, and it probably is, but what I could taste was high quality chocolate. Not so much Nutella, but for me, that’s okay. I usually find Nutella to be too sweet – I have been known to grind my own hazelnuts and make homemade Nutella. It’s not as smooth, and it is definitely less sweet.

The cake was moist and chocolatey. The enrobing chocolate could have been peeled off and eaten alone if you like to deconstruct your food. When I’m exploring something new – or eating sushi rolls – I like to pull things apart into their component parts. For new things it is to experience each bit – for sushi it is because the rolls are too big and I end up choking…

I did move on from the bakery to Discount Beads – where they did not have a metric ton of jump rings available (They do, however, have an astounding selection of everything else – including Swarovski crystals). I want to make this little guy and carry him around on my shoulder because I need just one more notch of weird to make people run away from me.

Chocolate and Spice Bakery, 7293 W Sahara Ave Las Vegas, NV. 89117

Discount Beads, 4266 South Durango Dr., #G, Las Vegas, Nevada 89147

2 thoughts on “The acquisition…”

Leave a Reply

