New words…

… are exciting.

I learned a new word this week. It’s not a word I remember having seen before and then, suddenly, I saw it twice in one week.

Odd.

When I reveal this word, I’m sure some of you are going to tell me that you spell it in your Alpha-Bits cereal every morning. That’s great. I’m very proud of you.

The first place I saw this word was in a romance novel. A what? Yes, you heard me right, a romance novel. Those much maligned books that some bookstores won’t even carry because “our readers don’t read trash.” The particular book in which I read this word was “Dream Lake” by Lisa Kleypas. She’s good. Like, really good. I want to be Lisa Kleypas when I grow up.

The second place I read this word? A statement made by Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor.

Yeah, I have a wide set of interests, so when I see a word that I don’t recognize, I get excited and look it up.

So. The word. (Finally)

Evince – (From the New Oxford American Dictionary) verb – 1. reveal the presence of 2. be evidence of; indicate

 

 

Leave a Reply

