Not the…

… usual sort of topic here. Nor is it my usual posting day.

I have written about it before, but I’m going to tie this into a bigger concept. Or try to.

As you may have learned by reading this post from my archive, I am an avid fan of the TV show “Arrow”. Too avid, my husband might say, but I like people dressed up in leather, shooting arrows at bad guys, and trying to make the world a better place. So, sue me. The only way to make this show better is to have a cat in it.

The last episode (SPOILER ALERT) “Nanda Parbat” seems to have the internet up in arms over a choice made by Felicity – formerly known to everyone as “I.T. Girl” Apparently there are legions of fans who are “Olicity” shippers, which, in TV parlance means they want Oliver (the Arrow) and Felicity to be together. I’ve never seen it. I don’t understand the attraction. It makes me uncomfortable and I wish I understood why. That’s not to say that I haven’t been a “shipper” in the past with various TV shows – to reach way back I’ll bring up Josh and Donna from “The West Wing” or … um … Oh! Mulder and Scully from “The X-Files”. I always thought those people should be together forever and ever and ever.

But, yeah, I just don’t get Olicity. One of these days I’ll be able to articulate why I don’t get it, but not today. What I CAN articulate is why I was glad to see her moving on with Ray (the ATOM). One (totally not story related) I LOVE Brandon Routh. Have I ever talked about “The Nine Lives of Christmas”? It was on the Hallmark channel this past holiday season. Let’s just say firemen and cats on the same screen and I’ll leave it there.

Two – I like Felicity. I really do. She’s brilliant and funny (wildly funny). I am a huge supporter of women being portrayed as MIT graduates on television and I was glad to see her taking control of her (love) life. I think that expecting her to while away the hours until Oliver finally realizes his feelings and/or stops feeling so guilty is just… not okay. Also, Ray made her a… ugh, now I forget, VP, I think? What did Oliver do? Ask her to work for free in his basement. As a freelancer who has a more widely varied diet than Ramen noodles – I can tell you that working for free – even if it is for the greater good – doesn’t put the fresh vegetables on the table. And fresh vegetables are why Oliver and Ray and Felicity and Laurel and Diggle and Thea and Roy and whoever else you want to list look the way they do. (And six hours of working out with personal trainers every day)

Three – Well, I guess that was really it. She is a smart woman who can get what she wants. I want her to continue to be that smart woman. I want her to continue to show the rest of us what it means to be strong and smart. Being strong and smart doesn’t mean waiting around for someone who isn’t going to be able to … uh … well… love her, I guess. I think Oliver (if he were an actual person) will eventually be a great human. But he has A LOT of baggage to work through that’s he’s not willing, or able, to work through right now. One of my favorite light bulb jokes is the following – How many psychiatrists does it take to change a light bulb? One, but the light bulb has to really want to change. (I learned that one from a PDQ Bach album.) At this point in the series, Oliver isn’t serious about changing and Felicity needs and deserves more.

There. Disagree away. Civilly, please.

4 thoughts on “Not the…”

  1. I haven’t kept up with the show much (although I share your affinity for folks in leather saving the world), but I agree that Oliver and Felicity would be a terrible couple. His phenomenal abs notwithstanding, she is way out of his league in every other way.

Leave a Reply

