I took …

… an archery lesson.

Yes. I did. And you know what? I wasn’t half bad.

I’m not going to go out and become Robin Hood or anything, at least not right away.

It was fun and it got me out of the house. There was even a 50% off Groupon! (That would be my first use of Groupon. I might be hooked on that, too.)

If you read Feline Friday you may have noticed that I’m also trying to go back to fencing. That’s fencing with weapons, not fencing with… you know, fences, and certainly not the practice of selling stolen goods. The problem with fencing is that I have a long way to go before I step foot into a salle again. With archery I could get a private lesson that didn’t cost both arms and at least one leg. Fencing, on the other hand, is sort of a two person sport. At the minimum. You could involve more, but it gets messy. Also, I think there’s a minimum … let’s call it “body condition” that’s required. What do I mean? Well, try this – 1. Stand up. 2. Spread your feet shoulder width apart. 3. Bend your knees until you’re sitting on an invisible stool (not a milkmaid’s stool, maybe a table height stool). 4. Hold that position indefinitely.

Hurts, doesn’t it? When you’ve successfully done this for at least a minute, walk the next day and see if you feel it.

What’s this about? I blame it on 40. It’s there and it’s taunting me. But, I suppose if I’m going to insist on a mid-life crisis getting active is not a terrible way for it to manifest.

3 thoughts on “I took …”

    1. I had a good time. I’m going to go back for more as soon as I can lift my arms… 😉 Seriously considering joining a club team for fun and friends.

Leave a Reply

