There’ve been…

… a new rash of posts lately stating what not to say.

I know I’ve posted about this before, but it still sort of rankles me.

Sure, as a woman who has chosen not to have children I wish people would stop saying “You’ll regret it.” I mean, too little, too late, people. But, that doesn’t mean I want to squash the conversation.

I understand these lists are about making people think. Trying to make them more sensitive, but honestly, I want to know exactly who the clods are. I don’t want them hiding behind false friendliness just because they read a list. If someone is so socially inept as to walk up to a person who makes things by hand and then say “This is what happens when you don’t go to college,” well, I think they should go right ahead.

Of course, the people who would do that aren’t going to change simply because they read a list that told them what not to say.

I am naturally curious. That might be the reason I get along so exceedingly well with cats. These lists make me over analyze everything that could possibly come out of my mouth until I end up saying nothing at all. I’m not naturally an a-hole, so my well intentioned questions never see the light of day because I’m too busy trying to make sure I don’t offend anyone.

Questions and the occasional social faux-pas are one of the many ways we learn. Conversation is how we experience new points of view.

Let’s stop finding ways to squash the conversation and look for better ways to open it up.

Leave a Reply

