Since my…

… husband doesn’t read my blog, I’m going to share a funny story.

Several weeks ago I was at the archery range when my cell phone buzzed in my pocket. I looked the the caller ID, saw it was my husband’s boss, K, and slipped the phone back into my pocket thinking it was a misdial. He’s done it before and I couldn’t think of any reason K would be calling me. When the phone buzzed again two minutes later, I practically dropped my bow and ran off the range having the momentary panic that my husband had somehow chopped off an arm with a case lid or something equally horrible.

Those who know my husband (also K…. hmm, this could get confusing… I’ll call the husband KB for the purposes of this post) know he is a consummate professional and confirmed workaholic. He would say he’s not, but… he has a high-blood-pressure inducing mid-western work ethic combined with a level of perfectionism not seen since Michelangelo painted the Sistine chapel. His bosses love him, his co-workers have a healthy level of respect for him, and labor at venues groan when they see him coming because when KB is on the job – it’s a big job.

So, why did K the boss call me? He wanted me to book a vacation because every time vacation would come up in conversation at work KB would laugh it off and go on his merry way.

I am the family travel agent. I am quite nearly neurotic about travel. The way I see it, there is simply too much to go wrong to leave a trip up to chance. Airplanes get delayed (a lot), luggage gets lost (even when you’re flying international business class), hotels lose reservations when fully booked (haven’t had this happen to me yet, aaaand I may have just jinxed us…), shuttles don’t show up… I could go on and on, but I won’t. My point isn’t to make it look like I’m an uptight traveler (unless my luggage gets left on the tarmac at JFK when I’m flying business class to the UK, then I get downright pissy) – I just like to have as many of my bases covered as possible. I virtually walk neighborhoods via Google maps (This is how I found the Doughnut Plant in NYC. You must go there. You must try the rosewater doughnut.) I like to know as much as possible about where I’m going so I’m armed with information at all times. Sometimes information is even better than pepper spray.

So, I found the only hole in the company calendar for months and found a cruise that happened to fit right into that hole.

And they had a suite available.

Now, I can’t say that we’ll be eating much beyond ramen noodles for a bit, but on the rare occasion we travel together for something non-work related – we do it well and in style. Besides, on the ship we will be making up for the ramen.

We’re going back to Alaska. I may be the only person on the ship hoping it rains, because rain is like a vacation for me. I may even ask the concierge if she can make it rain for me, just a little bit every day would be perfect.

Soot poses with a Lion at Rosenborg castle in Copenhagen, Denmark. They were best friends for about 30 seconds.
Soot poses with a Lion at Rosenborg castle in Copenhagen, Denmark. They were best friends for about 30 seconds.

Soot will be coming with us. He’s great on a trip and he went with us to Alaska the first time. Soot loves towel animals. If I looked hard enough I could find some pictures of him sitting on the bed with the turtle, or the swan, or the mice.

Right now, I’m trying to convince someone to rent a 50-500 f/4.5 – 6.3 Sigma zoom lens to me. I was all excited about the Sigma 150-600 f/5 – 6.3 but the aperture was getting a bit tiny and in Alaska – which has great potential to be overcast – I need the widest aperture I can afford. Anyway, we’ll see what comes of that. I’m really not prepared to buy one (see the ramen reference above), but I’m not sure my 18-270 will cut it for calving glaciers, playful porpoise, and … you know… whatever black bear I might entice into the path of my lens while I’m slowly backing away. Very slowly backing away.

Edit: After digging through my digital archives to no avail I finally went deep. Really deep. To my print albums. The first time my husband and I went to Alaska digital cameras were still only a toy for the rich. Or, at least, the richer than us. So. Here it is. Soot and his friend the towel Elephant as arranged by our room steward…

Did I mention how much I love... I mean, how much SOOT loves towel animals?
Did I mention how much I love… I mean, how much SOOT loves towel animals?
Leave a Reply

